Picking a major

I know that everyone has been in the same position that I am in. Picking a major is not easy. Take it from someone who has change theirs 2 times since starting college.  I never thought I would be the one to do this. In Fall of 2015, my first semester as a college student, I had it set in my mind that I was going to be a nursing major. Even taking a CNA course in high school convinced me even more that this is exactly what I want to do with my life. However, after giving it much thought once I started, something in my mind told me that this is not for me. In a way it was difficult to try and convince my father and older brothers that this is not what I want to do any longer. I saw myself not happy with what I was going to be doing. All they really thought about was the money and benefit part of it. This is what got to me. I do not want to major in something I know wont make me happy. I feel I would only be doing it because it is what others want me to do. I finally realized that it is my life and my future and I know exactly what I want to do with it.

I have always thought about teaching kids especially when I was younger. I thought about how fun and rewarding it would be to be able to teach young kids. So that is when I decided this is exactly what I want to do. I feel I have a better passion for teaching than nursing. I know that may sound harsh. When people ask me what my plans are and I tell them all I get it “good luck finding a job or getting one with benefits and good money”. I mean thanks for the support. I cant seem to understand why people just cant be supportive. Since this happens often now I respond with is “this is my life and this is what I want to do”. At some point you have to stop pleasing others and start pleasing yourself because it is YOUR future.

Leave a comment